Distance Learning Communication Plan

Dear Upper School Families,

Thank you for your patience as the upper school team worked to create plans for distance learning at The Summit. We know that this experience will be different from our daily norms at school, but we’re hopeful that our students’ strong bonds will help to make this experience as positive as it can be. 

Teachers will primarily operate from Google Classroom, so students should check in there daily. We hope to employ a variety of methods to continue instructing students, but we recognize that we are all learning as we go right now. Teachers will each host optional office hours via Zoom throughout the week, and students are welcome to schedule individual appointments or communicate via email. Teachers will continue to utilize their Summit blogs, so be sure to check out updates there, also.

Advisory meetings will take place at 10:30 am daily via Zoom (Click here to view The Summit’s expectations of Zoom/Google Hangout meetings. Click here for a Zoom tutorial.) Teachers will send out meeting invitations. We understand that schedules may look different for everyone, but students are encouraged to check in with their mentor teachers regularly. Tomorrow’s advisory meeting will serve as the initial contact between students and teachers, after which students may begin on their work for their individual classes.

Please let us know if you have any questions or if we can be helpful in any way. If you have any technology needs or questions, please reach out to tech@thesummitprep.org for support.

Thank you,

Upper School Team

 

Courtney Brown – cbrown@thesummitprep.org

Michelle Brown – mbrown@thesummitprep.org

Anna Cook – acook@thesummitprep.org

Shawn Keech – skeech@thesummitprep.org 

Sarah Leighninger – sleighninger@thesummitprep.org 

Paul Madar – pmadar@thesummitprep.org

Lisa Murphy – lmurphy@thesummitprep.org 

Rob Powers – rpowers@thesummitprep.org

Cassandra Raven – craven@thesummitprep.org

Emma Smith – esmith@thesummitprep.org

Kharja Teed – kteed@thesummitprep.org 

 

Blog Links: 

Upper School Blog

PE Blog

Art Blog

Spanish Blog

Music Blog